Upcycled Crate Planters

A couple of weeks ago as I was driving through one of my regular pallet hotspots I found these crates. Straight away I thought “ready made planters” so I loaded them into the car (after getting permission from the friendly industrial estate resident whose cast-offs they were) and took them home.

Crates

I sanded them down and we had a great night in painting them. The colours are courtesy of Cuprinol Shades (which happened to be on a 3-for-2 offer I picked up) and are great for adding a bit of colour to the backyard.

I decided to give the crates an inner lining of straw so that the plastic lining wouldn’t show through the gaps. I think it gives them a nice rustic look that balances their bright colours. The final touch was to print the kids’ names on with sponge letters I found for 99p. Tomorrow we plan to buy fruit plants and get growing!

Crate planters

Leave a comment