Recycled Pallet Wood Lawn Edging

A couple of months ago I had the idea of using pallet wood as a cheap lawn edging solution. Lawn edging is something I’d wanted for a while but with around 80m to cover the cost was always prohibitive.

When I first thought of using pallets I tested out some self made stakes along a metre stretch and really liked the results. So, for the last two days I’ve been making hundreds of pallet wood stakes and making my way around the lawn. I think the result is great!

The wood is untreated so it won’t last forever but since pallet wood is free and these stakes are so easy to install I didn’t consider the benefit to be worth the cost and effort of treating it.

6 thoughts on “Recycled Pallet Wood Lawn Edging”

    1. Yes I used a circular saw to cut them down to size and then created a pointed end. And yes, then I just pounded them in, sometimes in time to music to make it more fun 😀

      The first few I did I had trouble keeping them straight and in line with the curve of the lawn but as I went along I got the hang of it. I found that if I tried to hit them straight down they would end up with a very slight gap between the edging and the lawn, whereas if I hit them at a very slight inwards angle they would end up flush to the lawn edge.

      Let me know if you give it a try! 🙂

      Like

  1. I will be interested to learn if you have any sort of pest trouble with untreated wood in contact with the ground. I have done a little searching and it seems to depend on location. Some have said termites or carpenter ants can be a problem where others have said they have never had those problems but rather it seems the microorganism that do the damage. At any rate, this is a beautiful edge treatment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

