Ducks…

The blog has been a little quiet lately, simply because things have been so busy in the backyard. To cut a long story short, we are expecting ducks, imminently, and all of my spare time has been going into creating some housing for them.

Google
Google
A few days ago my wife announced that her friend was giving us three Aylesbury ducklings once they hatched. Far be it for me to turn down a challenge (or free eggs) I set about making a pallet duck house.

I’ve been scratching my head trying to figure out whereabouts in the backyard they are going to live, and I think I’ve finally made a decision. One of the “dead space” corners has been chosen, but it needs a hell of a lot of TLC.

Potential duck area

Like many of its fellow corners before it it has attracted a lot of rubbish and become a bit of a dumping ground, so that will need shifting first. It’s also home to an old makeshift pergola which has seen better days. This will likely need to come down.

I’ve got my work cut out for me, as usual, and I’m stumbling along into the unknown, as usual, but I might get some free food so I’m game.

Pallet duck house

The duck house has been making slow and steady progress and I hope to finish it in the next few days so that I can move onto clearing the pen area, a job I am NOT looking forward to! 😀

Leave a Reply

