Backyard Carnival

Since the weather here has taken a turn for the worse and put the completion of my compost tumbler project on hold I thought I’d take the time to talk about a future project I’m very excited about.

Even though summer is still a long way off I’ve been kind of obsessing about an idea for outdoor parties called “Backyard Carnival” which was inspired by some carnival stalls I saw on Pinterest.

image
Pinterest

The intention is to recreate some carnival games in the garden using pallets and anything else I can get my hands on. I have a Pinterest board full of inspiration (read: ideas I’m going to steal) and almost every day I take a look at it and have a little daydream about how amazing this summer is going to be, especially if the weather allows for an outdoor party on my son’s birthday in July and we can have a garden full of happy, laughing children enjoying the carnival theme.

Ok, here’s the truth: I really want to play some carnival games! More specifically, I want to shoot targets with a cork gun, on a shooting gallery I’ve made.

So, here’s what’s going to happen. I’ll use full pallets as ready made stall fronts, then cut down a pallet to about a third width and attach it as a marquee. Then I’ll knock up some simple support stands, paint the pallet boards in alternating red and white and hey presto, I’ll have a backyard carnival stall! At least, that’s how easy I imagine it…

Constructing the games will be a little trickier but shouldn’t pose too much of a problem. I’m sticking to the classics: the aforementioned shooting gallery, tin can knock down, ball and bucket, skee ball and roll-a-ball. I should be able to make them almost entirely out of reclaimed materials like pallet wood and plumbing so as I drive around I’ll be on the lookout for useful bits and bobs.

This is one project that I am really excited about. It’s definitely brought out the inner child in me!

Wish me luck, and stay tuned for updates in the future!

One thought on “Backyard Carnival”

Leave a Reply

